Edo Komon ( 江戸小紋 )

[`evernote` not found]
Digg にシェア
LinkedIn にシェア
StumbleUpon にシェア

Edo Komon

This refers to kimonos with subtle stencil-dyed patterns made from tiny dots.

There are 3 distinctive patterns of Edo Komon – Same-komon, Kakutoshi and Gyogi. Same-komon is a sharkskin-like semicircular pattern. Smaller dots make finer patterns, and from a distance, the kimono looks like an iromuji. For Kakutoshi, vertical and horizontal patterns cross each other at right angles while for Gyogi, the lines of dots are crossed obliquely. There are 4 types of craving techniques to make the stencils for these patterns – Tsukibori, Kiribori, Dogubori and Shimahori.

After the war, Komiya Kosuke was designated as a holder of Important Intangible Cultural Property (Living National Treasure) for his work with Edo Komon.

Edo Komon can be traced back to the Muromachi period and were found on the clothes worn by daimyos (feudal lords) and samurais. Clans made their own unique patterns called Sadame Komon, and later, common folks made their own pattern called Iware Komon.

Komon usually cannot be worn as a formal kimono, but Edo Komon with crests are considered as formal as iromuji, making them a higher rank than other komon.

[quote style=”boxed”]In Japanese


鮫小紋、角通し、行儀の三つが代表的な江戸小紋三役として知られます。鮫小紋は、鮫肌のようにみえる半円形のパターンで、柄が細かいほどよいとされ、極鮫小紋は遠目には無地にも見えます。角通しは、縦横に直角に並んだ模様から筋を通す、の意味が込められ、行儀は、斜めに規則的に交差するので行儀や礼を尽くす、の意味があります。これらの型をつくる技法には、突彫 つきぼり 、錐彫 きりぼり、道具彫 どうぐほり、縞彫 しまほりなどの型紙の彫法があります。